Meet KJNB: Robert Lennon

January 1, 2009

Hi there! I’m Robert Lennon, one of the Web Coordinators here at KJNB, and also a DJ at the station. I’ve currently got the 11PM-Midnight slot on Thursdays for my show: Friar John’s Psalms.

I’m also one of the reviewers here, and that’s what I would like to talk about right now. One of the problems I personally have with reviewers is usually that I have no context for the reviewer. I have no idea what they enjoy, I have no idea what they’re looking for in music. And that renders most reviews pitfalls. So I felt I should try and counteract that myself. Thus, the idea of “Meet KJNB”. If you know the reviewer, you get a better sense when you read their reviews.

Some of my favorite musicians include, but are not limited to: Godspeed You! Black Emperor, A Silver Mt. Zion, Clann Zu, Mark Seymour, Stars of the Lid, Eluvium, Boards of Canada, and Mogwai. So a fairly eclectic bunch. I branch into folk music, and a lot of international bands.

When I listen to music, I pay special attention to lyrics and voice work, if they’re present. I feel the human voice is just as much an instrument as any other, and if you use it you should have a good reason. Lyrics are always important. You could have a musically amazing song, but if your lyrics are bad, I’m not going to enjoy it that much. I also enjoy it when bands experiment musically. If they try something new, I may be willing to cut them some slack on other counts. Not much, though.

I hope this little bit of information helped you get more out of my reviews.

Leave a Reply

